Day 22: Spicy Shrimp Fried Rice & Cranberry Banana Muffins

For whatever reason, today I was feeling extra domestic and wanted to try two new recipes.  I planned to make the spicy shrimp fried rice for dinner and then felt like baking something to take to school tomorrow.  I had cranberries and bananas that needed to be used, hence the cranberry banana muffins.

First the rice.  Well, actually let me say:  for those of you who have never explored Skinny Taste, you should. No joke, it will change your cooking life.  It has so many popular dishes, which are usually high in fat and calories, but skinny-fied.  My roommate and I would literally make a skinny taste recipe every night during the school week because they are quick, easy, healthy, and tasty.  However, we had never made the Spicy Shrimp Fried Rice, so tonight I gave it a go.

Spicy deliciousness.

Spicy deliciousness.

Three reasons why this recipe is worth trying:

1.  It’s only like 300 calories per serving.

2.  It’s quick.

3.  It’s got a lot of flavor (that can be adjusted to your spicy liking).

I would definitely caution you that this recipe is prettttttty spicy.  If you aren’t a huge spice fan, reduce the red pepper flakes by half.  Other than that, I wouldn’t change the recipe one bit.  As you can see I served mine with roasted broccoli… NOM.  Yummy week night dinner for sure.

isn't it pretty?

isn’t it pretty?

Muffin time.  I have never had bananas and cranberries together, so I thought, “now’s as good a time as any,” and whipped them up.  Literally, this recipe is SO easy, which is always a plus.  The muffins just came out of the oven, looking pretty and smelling good.  It’s a littler too late for muffins tonight, but I’ll let you know how they are tomorrow.   Have a good night!

Oh and here’s the link for the muffins:

Cranberry Banana Muffins 

Mmmuffins.

Mmmuffins.

Leave a Reply

