Day 7: Mint Chocolate Chip Brownies (1 week down, 51 to go)

I haven’t tested a real dessert in a few days so, tonight is the night.  MINT. CHOCOLATE. CHIP. BROWNIES. nom.

Brownies are delicious on their own, but I mean you can’t really go wrong by adding mint frosting, right?  I’ll make them and let you know how it goes.

DSC_0371

Well, the recipe I tested was very… minty.  The brownie was flourless so it was extremely fudge-like in texture which was good, but it was a little too minty for my liking.  I followed the recipe as it was written for each step except for the frosting.  The frosting calls for 4 teaspoons of mint extract, which is a lot of flavor for the amount of frosting the recipe makes.  So, I added the flavoring in 1/2 teaspoons increments in order to figure out how much extract was enough to give a mint flavor but not taste like mouthwash.  Total, I added 1 tsp of mint extract and that was plenty.  If I were to make the recipe again I think I would only add 1/2 teaspoon because the mint flavor was really intense.  I’ll provide the link for the recipe so you can try it out for yourself.

http://www.yammiesnoshery.com/2012/12/mint-chocolate-chip-brownies.html

I’m excited about tomorrow’s recipe: Spicy Baked Chicken Nuggets.  Stay Tuned.

Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

