Day 4: No-Bake Energy Bites

Today’s recipe has a lot of positives:

1.  They are quick to make.

2.  They are easy to make.

3.  They are healthy.

4.  They taste good.

5.  They give you energy.. Even if it is a result of the placebo effect.

The point is, this recipe is definitely worth a try.  I know I say that about like every recipe because I cook 24/7… But really, give these a try if you are looking for a healthy and sweet snack.

sn: not gonna lie.. I did not want to taste them because they are not exactly the most appealing treats to the eye.  And, I was nervous because I have never made anything with ground flaxseed and I did not know how that was going to taste (it definitely doesn’t look like it would taste good).

BUT.  Mixed with the peanut butter and honey and coconut and chocolate chips (you get the idea) they basically taste like those no-bake oatmeal cookies.  I will be making these to put in my lunch box when I start back school next week fo sho.

Yes, I still use a lunch box.

So, here’s the recipe.. I hope you give them a try!  Remember people, new year=new food.

No-Bake Energy Bites (yields 20-25)

1 cup old-fashioned oats

2/3 cup coconut, toasted

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup ground flaxseed

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/3 cup honey

1 tsp vanilla

First, to toast the coconut, just get out a small, non-stick, skillet and toast the coconut on the stove top on medium heat for about 5 minutes.  You’ll want to keep the coconut moving though, so it doesn’t burn.  So stir it frequently.

Here comes the hard part…

Put all of the ingredients in a bowl and stir it all together.

Once everything is nice and happyDSC_0361 and mixed together, put the mixture in the fridge for about 15-20 minutes to set up.  Then, roll the mixture into 1 inch balls.  To store, keep these little loves in the fridge.

Nom.

Happy baking!

One thought on “Day 4: No-Bake Energy Bites

Leave a Reply

