Day 1: Chicken Tamale Pie

And it’s here; January one.  Another year has come and gone and another year has made its way.  It doesn’t feel different, it doesn’t feel super exciting, it doesn’t feel like this is going to be a life-changing year.  But hey, you never know.  Regardless I will continue to embark on my food journey and test another recipe: chicken tamale pie.

So what I am going to do is go make it and then let you know how it goes.  brb.

(Anna’s Cooking)

I’m back.  The pie was relatively successful.  Considering the fact that I didn’t exactly follow the recipe as I was distracted by my adorable niece.  I kind of sort of just messed up this one part, just a little, but it still turned out just fine (although, I have nothing to compare it to). The corn mixture is like a sweet and creamy cornbread and the chicken is salty and kind of spicy, so it’s a yummy combination.

Btw.  I’m in the process of updating my blog so that I can put more pictures up, so hopefully that will be fixed soon.

Back to the pie…

DSC_0327

sn: Throughout the year as I make various dishes, you’ll notice that any with cheese will have a portion that in fact does not have cheese.  That section is reserved for my sister Allison, who has a cheese aversion.

Here is the recipe, that of course I adapted because I can’t follow a recipe to save my life.  But, I’m working on that!  Oh, and on a lighter note, one serving of this pie is less than 300 calories.  A nice healthy meal for you and yours.

Chicken Tamale Pie:

  • 1/3 cup fat free milk
  • 1 egg white
  • 1½ tablespoon taco seasoning, divided
  • ¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 (14.75 ounce) can cream-style corn
  • 1 (8.5 ounce) box corn muffin mix (I used traditional Jiffy)
  • 1 (4 ounce) can chopped green chiles, drained
  • 1 (10 ounce) can red enchilada sauce
  • 2 cups shredded cooked chicken breast
  • 3/4 cup shredded cheese (I used Monterey Jack)
  1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Combine the first 7 ingredients (using only 1/2 tbs of the taco seasoning) in a bowl until well combined.  Pour your ingredients into a greased 8-inch pie plate.
  2. Bake at 400° for 20-25 minutes. (So this is where I kind of did things differently and it turned out good).  Combine your shredded chicken, the rest of the taco seasoning (remaining 1 tbs), and enchilada sauce in a bowl while the corn mixture is baking.  When the 20ish minutes have gone by and your corn pie is a little golden around the edges but still gooey in the middle, take it out of the oven.  Then, take a knife and poke all over the pie (it’s gonna be kind of gooey but just go with it).  You’re doing this so that enchilada yumminess seeps into the corn mixture… So then, put the chicken mixture on top of the corn bread, spreading it evenly over the entire pie.  Top with your cheese and stick that baby back in the oven for another 10-15 minutes.
  3. Let the pie cool for about 5 minutes before cutting into it.  This will serve about 8 people.

Enjoy my friends.  Happy baking!

2 thoughts on “Day 1: Chicken Tamale Pie

  1. Anna,
    It was so good seeing you at Lauren’s wedding! I am so happy to see that you are keeping up with your New Year’s resolution! quick question…How much of the taco seasoning did you put in the crust and how much was reserved for the chicken/sauce mixture?

    • Thank you for catching that! I just fixed it.. it is supposed to be 1/2 tbs in the corn mixture and 1 tbs for the chicken :). So good to see you guys the other night, hope to see you soon!

Leave a Reply

