the year of new food.

Well, I have been waiting to write this post until New Year’s Eve in order to announce my New Year’s resolution.  I thought long and hard about it and I have decided that I am going to try to test one new recipe a day.  Yes, each day.  My thing is, I bake/cook all the time, so why not challenge myself to try new things?  I’m going to test recipes from various sources (e.g., blogs, websites, cook books, etc.); tasty confections from hors d’ oeuvres to desserts and everything in between.  There’s really no purpose to this particular resolution, other than just to do something different.  If you have any recipes you’d like me to try please leave a comment of the name of the dish or post it on my Girl Gone Nom Facebook page.  I need 365 recipes so I could use the help.

I decided to kick off my recipe extravaganza by testing a yummy Thai Chicken Pizza recipe.  IT. WAS. DELICIOUS.  And, honestly, not too bad for you  (in comparison to like Pizza Hut).  I found the recipe courtesy of FoodGawker, and of course I tweeked it just a smidge. Hope you enjoy!

Thai Chicken Pizzaphoto

1 ball of pizza dough (pre-made at Publix was like $2.50)

1 tablespoon Thai chili sauce

1/4 cup peanut sauce (homemade recipe below)

1 – 1 1/2 cup cooked, shredded chicken

1 cup mozzarella cheese

2-3 sliced green onions


Peanut Sauce:

1/4 cup crunchy peanut butter

2 tbs soy sauce

1 tbs rice wine vinegar

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

To make the pizza, preheat oven to 500 degrees. Adjust oven rack to the lowest position. If your pizza dough is too sticky to work with, lightly sprinkle in more flour until you can easily handle it. Lightly oil a baking sheet, and stretch dough across it until it’s fairly thin, but not quite see-through. You want it to be approximately 13 inches in diameter.

To make the peanut sauce, heat the peanut butter in the microwave for about 20 seconds to soften it.  Then, toss in the rest of the ingredients, using a fork or a small whisk to combine everything.

Combine the peanut sauce and the Thai chili sauce and spread on the dough, leaving a 1-inch edge. Sprinkle the shredded chicken, followed by the mozzarella, and a small sprinkling of green onions. Bake for 12-16 minutes until cheese is melted, and crust is golden brown. Top with additional green onions and serve extra peanut sauce on the side for dipping, if desired!

Cheers to the New Year & wish me luck with my recipe resolution.  Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

