Strawberry Cupcakes

I can just bake to bake.  I don’t need to eat it, I’m not always tempted by the sweet treats, and no- I don’t always lick the bowl.  For me, the thrill is in the preparation and baking process.  And of course, giving the food to someone who really appreciates it.  Each time I preheat my oven, it’s like I’m on my very own Cupcake Wars or Chopped… Attempting to bake in the most efficient and most delicious manner.

“Now back to you, Alton!”

It’s funny too because the people around me also take on roles in the baking process.  For example, my mother, Therese, says she is my sous chef.  She’s always one step behind me, whether it’s washing a bowl, grabbing the next ingredient, or prepping the baking pans.  And then there’s Al, she usually pretends to be Giada De Lautreniis- who takes abnormally large bites of food, or Candice Nelson- who eats the tiniest bit of a cupcake.

SN: Really Candice,  that bite of the cupcake was like the size of my pinky nail.  I bet you don’t even know what it tastes like.

Recently I have been baking for wedding showers, birthday celebrations, and so fourth.  Mom, Al, and my oldest sister Steph all helped me with my most recent orders- really couldn’t have done it without them!  Something these ladies all have in common, besides helping me bake, is they are all wonderful moms.  Our mother of course, is great.  I love her so much, she’s my sous chef, my thrift store partner, the best Nana T to my doggy Tucker, and the most wonderful example of a godly wife and mother.  Then Steph, who Cole and Hayden adore, is so good at being a mom.  She’s the funniest, coolest, hottest mom in their neighborhood for sure.  And Al, who hasn’t even got to hold her most precious Ruby Lynn in her arms yet, but I know will be so good to her.

So today, I want to celebrate each of these beautiful women in my life.  If I am half the wife and mother as you guys, I think I’ll be okay :).

Strawberry Cupcakes:

1 box white cake mix

3 egg whites

1 cup frozen strawberries (with juice), thawed

1/3 cup vegetable oil

Makes 18-20 cupcakes

Preheat oven to 350.  In a large mixing bowl combine cake mix, egg whites, and vegetable oil.  Mix this on medium speed for about 30 seconds.  When that is combined add the strawberries and increase the speed to medium-high and mix for 3 minutes.

In lined cupcake pans, put 1/2 cup of the cake batter in each cupcake liner.  Bake the cupcakes for 20-22 minutes, or until a toothpick is inserted and comes out clean.

Easy-peasy, lemon-squeezey!

I top the cupcakes with cream homemade cheese frosting.  But you can use whatever frosting you like!

Happy Baking!

Girl Gone Nom

One thought on “Strawberry Cupcakes

  1. Awww, LOVE the post! Pooh, you too, are a great mother. The way you’ve taken care of Tucker through his illnesses and surgery–it’s truley inspiring. BTW, anyone who’s reading this, I have had these Strawberry Cupcakes and they are, by far, the best, most moistest cupcakes I’ve ever tasted.

Leave a Reply

