Cake Batter Gooey Bars

My lovely & talented friend Carrie Ann Smith (catch her on FB… CarrieAnn Photography) took pictures for me recently to help me promote girl gone nom.  And, if I do say so myself, she did an awesome job.  Carrie and I go waaay back, so it was fun to have a picture/dessert play date.

I knew before the photo shoot that I wanted my Pyrex collection to play a lead role in the pictures.  This past summer, my mother, Therese, and I raided every thrift store we encountered for Pyrex dishes.  Very specific Pyrex, not the clear stuff they sell in Walmart today.  I personally love the solid pieces, like my red bowl.  It’s very classic, very retro, and very bright!  I dream of my future kitchen more than I do of a future husband (Lord willing!).  I imagine the cabinets will be a clean and bright white, with open or glass doors so you can see inside the cabinet, with contrasting black counters.  Boring, right?  No mam, not boring. When I get all my beautiful, colorful, retro Pyrex (and other various kitchenware)  filling the cabinets it will be BEA-U-TI-FUL.  Ah, can’t wait!  Needless to say, I’m still on the hunt for Pyrex.  However, Therese and I have decided we must have bought it all because I haven’t found a pretty piece in quite some time.

Nooooooom (opera voice): I love cake batter!  Especially of the Funfetti variety because it reminds me of my bright Pyrex dishes.  It’s just happy cake; seriously, you bite into cake and little colorful sprinkles are just sitting there smiling back at you.  So, when I found this recipe I knew I had to try and nomify it to make it my own.  Any time I bring these pleasant treats anywhere they are a huge hit!  My line when passing them out is, “These are Cake Batter Gooey Bars and you can feel good about eating them!”  I say you can feel good about eating them because there is no butter/oil and they are made with just egg whites.  Therefore, I don’t feel as bad when I add white chocolate chips to them… :).  It cancels out, right?  I hope you enjoy them as much as my friends and I do.

Happy Baking, friends!

girl gone nom

Cake Batter Gooey Bars:

1 Funfetti or Confetti cake mix

1 4 oz. container of apple sauce

2 egg whites

1/4 cup fat-free milk

1/2 cup white chocolate chips

Lightly grease an 8×8 pan and preheat your oven to 350.

In a large mixing bowl stir the cake mix, apple sauce, and eggs together.  When that is combined nicely, slowly incorporate the milk into the batter.  Stir the mixture until you have a smooth batter (the batter is going to be pretty thick, it’s supposed to be like that).  Finally, add your white chocolate chips.  Pour the batter into your prepared pan, pop that baby in the oven, and eat the bowl… I mean set the timer.  Yeah, set the timer for 25 minutes.

Now, I always say this but all ovens are different!  You want the bars to be a golden brown around the edges and a light brown on top.  And, obviously, you want them gooey.  Twenty-five minutes is how long it takes in my oven for the perfect balance of gooey, but done.  Just keep and eye on them and they’ll be delicious.

If you happen to have a little frosting laying around… You may want to top your gooey bars with that.  🙂 go big or go home!

6 thoughts on “Cake Batter Gooey Bars

  1. Mmmm…I don’t think I’ve ever been offered one of these. I’m skeptical because they’re “good for you”, but I’ll try them anyway.

  2. I found some awesome retro Pyrex at the Vancouver flea market this weekend. Guess you’ll just have to come to Canada to get more. No, but really this lady had several different pieces and colors. I wished I could buy some but have no more room in my suitcases.

Leave a Reply

