Pineapple Upside-Down Life

Things never go “as planned” it seems like.  While on the rare occasion they do, for the most part it seems as though somewhere along the line there is some unexpected twist or turn that catches you off guard.  I’ve learned and respected this silent understanding of “plans” this past year more than ever.  I have never been so challenged, confused, or desperate in my life than in this past year.  And when I say “desperate,” my desperation is in that of the Lord.  A longing for His satisfaction, contentment, understanding, and hope.  I can assure you, however, I have never lost the hope of Christ and I never will.  I know that he is always with me, always hears me, and always loves me.  My greatest challenge is being the counterpart in that relationship;  returning my loyalty, faithfulness, and satisfaction to Him.

Have you ever baked a Pineapple Upside-Down cake?  Mm.  It’s yummy.  It’s fantastic too because it’s not like other elaborate cakes, you just dump some melted butter, brown sugar, and pineapples in a pan, top it with cake batter, bake and viola.  You have a delish one-pan-wonder.  The tricky part, though, is flipping the cake out of the pan.  You honestly never know what to expect- will the pineapples stick, will they not. Ahhhh… the anticipation.

I have made many a upside-down cakes and I can guarantee, they have not all turned out perfectly.  In fact, I don’t think I have made one where all of the pineapples come off the pan cleanly.  Was it in my plan that should happen?  No.  Did the recipe say they would happen?  Certainly, not.  You can thank me later for being honest that your pineapples may stick; it’s less heartbreaking upon the flip.  However, the beautiful thing about this messed up plan is that it is so easy to fix, no one will ever know your pineapples didn’t obey your flip command.  Grab yourself a spatuala, peel off the pineapples, and put them where they belong.  In the empty ring-mold on the cake.  No one will ever know the difference.  (As my cake is in the oven, filling the kitchen with a sweet, brown-sugary scent, I’m wondering when how it will turn out. Lol).

“Therefore we do not lose heart.  Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.  For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all.  So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen.  For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” 2 Corinthians 4:16-18

So, on those Pineapple Upside-Down days, the days when you don’t know what to expect or how something will turn out or even the fear of knowing things aren’t going to turn out how you have planned, do not lose heart.  Trust in the Lord your God with all of your heart, mind, and strength, from your pineapples to your life, He is in control of it all.

Happy Baking!

Girl Gone Nom

2 thoughts on “Pineapple Upside-Down Life

  1. Well spoken, Pooh. Life can be one prickley pineapple. This post made me think…”When life hands you a pineapple, bake a cake!” I wish you were home baking all of these treats. I can’t wait for you to make your first million (or at least half a million) so we can open our bakery/Zumba shop!

Leave a Reply

